Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships announces winners of 2019 National Awards for Innovation and Excellence

November 6, 2019

The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships (CCPPP) announced the five winners of the 2019 National Awards for Innovation and Excellence in public-private partnerships.

The awards will be celebrated at the CCPPP’s 27th annual conference on Monday, November 18th in Toronto.

“We are quickly approaching the 30-year mark for the use of P3s in Canada,” says Mark Romoff, president and CEO of CCPPP, “which is why it’s so exciting to see that there are still new ways the public and private sectors and Indigenous communities can work together to find innovative and sustainable approaches to developing, financing, and maintaining public infrastructure that achieves the best outcome for Canadians.”

Two of the five winning projects are Colliers Project Leaders’ mandates, including Library and Archives Canada’s Gatineau 2 project in Gatineau, QC, and the Stoney CNG Bus Storage and Transit Facility in Calgary, AB.

Library and Archive Canada’s Gatineau 2 project will be Canada’s new national preservation facility with the world’s largest automated storage and retrieval system for archival collections. The flagship building will sit next to and complement the award-winning Preservation Centre in Gatineau, QC. It will be the first “net-zero-carbon” facility dedicated to archival presentation in the Americas and the first federal building constructed to meet the requirements of Canada’s Greening Government Strategy.

The Stoney CNG Bus Storage and Transit Facility is the largest indoor compressed natural gas bus fueling complex in North America, and one of the largest in the world. The facility is the first large-scale public-private partnership undertaken by the City of Calgary. The P3 project has an estimated cost savings of 34.7 per cent or $162.6 million compared to traditional procurement.

Congratulations to the project teams on these monumental wins!

Read more about the 2019 award winners here.